Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Hamburg?

The Interlink Academy bids to host the Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Hamburg in 2019. We promise a huge muckrakers' party for more than one thousand investigative journalists form around the world. Please support our bid!

Together with Germany’s association of investigative journalists Netzwerk Recherche (as project leader) and the non-profit investigative journalism team of Correctiv, we want to invite investigators, data journalists, and academics to meet in Hamburg in two year’s time.

The Interlink Academy and its partners have put together an impressive bid book detailing what is planned. You can download the pdf of the bid book here. The decision about the host city 2019 will be made at this year’s conference in Johannesburg/South Africa in mid-November after the annual general meeting of the global network.

The workshops in Hamburg in 2019 would take place on the premises of Europe’s leading invstigative news magazine, DER SPIEGEL, and right next door at the famous Hafencity University and its state of the art computer labs.  Speakers from around the globe will share their skills and expertise.

There shall be no lack of fun either: Hamburg’s famous entertainment district Saint Pauli, with its music clubs, bars, and theaters, is just around the corner. Participants would be invited to generous receptions at Hamburg’s Baroque style city hall and some of the giant media companies.

The attendance fee for participants would be very affordable and, in addition, various German foundations have pledged to sponsor travel grants for hundreds of participants from developing countries and countries in transition.

If you are a member of the Global Investigative Journalists Network, please vote for us and and you will contribute to a once in a lifetime experience for investigating journalists.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the exciting port city of Hamburg, Germany’s second biggest city, in 2019. Wir freuen uns auf euch!

Photos (from the top): Christian Spahrbier, Marcelo Hernandez, Raphael Hünerfauth, Jörg Modrow, Peter Sitt, Raphael Hünerfauth.